Fresh Guacamole

To say that I’m obsessed with Mexican food would be an understatement. If I get to choose my last meal on this planet, it is going to be: a few tacos, some rice and beans and a refreshing margarita. So, in honor of Cinco de Mayo, I’ve decided to share with you my all time favorite guacamole recipe (which I am currently destroying as I type).

Ingredients (not pictured: onion).
Ingredients (not pictured: onion).

What you will need:

  • 2-3 ripe avocados (seeded and peeled) note- mine were not the ripest for this demo which makes the guac more lumpy, but still amazing!
  • 1 lime (juiced)
  • 1 garlic clove (minced)
  • 1 small onion (I prefer red onion, but all I had was white)
  • 1 medium sized tomato (seeded & diced)
  • 1 jalapeno pepper (minced)
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • ground pepper to taste
  • Frank’s Hot Sauce to taste

Step 1: In a large bowl mash up the seeded and peeled avocado.  Squeeze half of the lime onto mashed avocado.

My not so ripe avocado.
My not so ripe avocado.

Step 2: Add in spices (salt, cumin, cayenne) and continue to mix.

Spices give the guac a little kick.
Spices give the guac a little kick.

Step 3: Fold in the onions, jalapeno, tomato and garlic.

O
Again, I prefer red onion, but you go with what ya got.

Step 4: Add in the other half of the lime juice. Optional: add in a few pinches of ground pepper and a few dashes of Frank’s Hot Sauce to taste.

Enjoy!
Enjoy! Happy Cinco de Mayo!

Cheers,

M&K

 

One thought on “Fresh Guacamole

Leave a Reply

