DIY: Repurposing Old Bottles and Jars

A few jars from my collection.
True Life: I’am a jar hoarder.

A few years back, I was looking through my boyfriend’s mother’s cabinet for a snack, when I noticed that she stored her dried fruit and nuts in adorable, old sauce jars. I absolutely loved the idea and ever since that day, I’ve been guilty of buying certain groceries at Trader Joes, simply for the cute jars they come in. Here are some of my favorite ways to repurpose used glass bottles and jars.

DIY Flower Vase:

Use hemp rope to cover up the lid grooves.
Use hemp rope to cover up the lid grooves.
New DIY Flower Vase.
New DIY Flower Vase.
Arnold Palmer jug turned into a flower vase.
Arnold Palmer jug turned into a flower vase.
Jam Jar turned into adorable mini flower vase.
Jam Jar turned into adorable mini flower vase.

Storage for Dried Fruit, Nuts & Pasta:

Mmmmm dried Apricot.
Mmmmm dried Apricot in a old sauce jar.

Tips: To remove labels off of jars just set in warm water for 15-20 minutes. Then lightly scrub any extra sticky leftovers with the sponge. Or… if you are impatient like me, run the jars under hot water and scrub like crazy with a sponge you no longer care about.

Cheers,

M&K

Leave a Reply

